rigged up a petcock, starting seat fabrication…

So this has been a slow process over the holidays and the new year…. I need to buy a lot of parts and funds have been pretty low. I decided to start fabricating things myself…

Picked up a petcock for a 77 cb550f, and its too small, although it does have the coarse threads needed… I picked up an air hose attachment at lowes, and ground down the thing about half an inch so it would fit above the engine nice… not pretty, but functional.

I also decided that I would build the seat myself based on this DIY page, pretty neat…

http://home.brisnet.org.au/~jmiller/leinfam/seat.html

I will be using the rear section of the original gas tank, I just hope that I can blast off all the inside rust without putting a hole in the thing.. haha it hasnt been opened in 12 years.

The tank with cut lines before fabrication…. I think I got a nice shape going with this thing…. the teardrop shape is lending itself well to a rear fairing…

About cb650cafe

Building my first cafe racer...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

